Wellington triumphs in SA Terroir Awards.


02 August 2010

For the first time ever a trophy was awarded to the top wine area in South Africa, based on a specific winegrowing terrain that produced most of the wines that went to the final round for a SA Terroir National Certificate, as well as the number of wines that received a National Certificate. The first winner of the Novare Trophy for SA Terroir Top Wine Area is the Wellington ward, with seven finalists and two national winners (Diemersfontein Pinotage and Doolhof Petit Verdot). Welbedacht of Schalk Burger & Sons and produced three of the seven national finalists from Wellington. Wamakersvallei’s La Cave won Top Shiraz  in the Wellington category.

Most entries were Sauvignon Blanc (36), followed by Chardonnay (26), Red Blends (22), Shiraz (20), Chenin Blanc (19), Merlot (19), Pinotage (19) and Cabernet Sauvignon (18). The toughest combat in the final round was with the red blends, where eight wines competed and the top three wines were almost equal

For more information visit



Click here to comment on this news article